Introducing DevConnect - Connect with Developers and their inspiring works!

Introducing DevConnect - Connect with Developers and their inspiring works!

Reach out your favorite developer

·

4 min read

Hello People

👋Hi Friends! A warm welcome to all the people on Hashnode. I am Nimalan, a passionate developer who loves building products, loves tech and science, and absolutely coding.

This is the first hackathon I am participating on Hashnode and I am really excited to launch my new app DevConnect.

My Mighty Learning

From the day I started Coding👨🏻‍💻, I started learning. I always develop a new app or clone an existing app with some additional features to test my learnings and identify my mistakes. But that's not enough for me. It became like a hunger for me to create a Full Stack app that really helps users.

And Finally, I took the motive to create this app DevConnect and launching it now. I learned a lot and lot during the development of this app. So, this is a Mightly Learning for me!

Introducing DevConnect

Group 22.jpg DevConnect - short form of Developers - Connect is an app for developers to know about each other and their inspiring works. It comes with developer profiles that consists of his/her little personal details and lot of professional details like current designation, tech skills, projects, blogs, social media handles.

The idea🚀

I always used to follow some developers on Twitter, GitHub etc., I came to know about their projects and blogs by finding either their GitHub repo or Online Portfolio. I did this for every developers whom I wish to know. Eventually, it took time to scroll and find. So, I thought of an idea, how it would be if all the developers show their works in a separate page. The short ideas turned into a Full Stack App.

How does it work?

  • Sign Up the app with Auth0 to create your developer profile on DevConnect. Its mandatory to have your own profile to explore other developers on DevConnect.

Sign In Page

  • Dashboard is the place where you control all other actions on DevConnect.

Dashboard

  • Create your Profile - Add your Profile Picture, Name, Current Status, Tech Skills, Project Details, Blog Details, Social Media Handles. Filling all the fields is more encouraged.

Create Profile

  • Take a look on all developer profiles available in DevConnect and view any profile you want.

Developers page

  • Viewing Profile shows you the developer's details and you will get to know their projects, blogs, skills and more.

Developer Profile

Auth0

Auth0 is very simple and easy to integrate with the tech stack by just pulling some codes and .env variables provided using the docs. It made the user authentication and user management super easy. Thanks for that!🎉

Build With 💻

Planning📋

This is the first app for me which is planned first and then developed😜. Time management is the biggest challenge I faced during the development and to overcome it, I used Notion. Better planning, daily to-dos, requirements are planned and organized with Notion.

Designing🌈

My designing inspirations are made from Dribbble and figma is the tool I used for designing UIs. Picking up the colors and images for the app is always a mess for me in designing. But still, I love it❤️.

Challenges

  1. Using firebase was awesome, but the storage rules and firestore rules messed up the whole app. At last, stack overflow gave the solution.

  2. useState() in react took the most time for me since it was used to store user inputs containing arrays, objects and array of objects.

  3. App is ready but I had it has 0 developer profiles other than mine. So, I reached out a developer I know to have his profile on my app. And Rutik Wankhade was kind enough to create a profile and he suggested some improvements on my app. Thanks Rutik Wankhade.🙏

Future Improvements🔮

  • Following profiles
  • Profile with Workplace and Experience
  • Improved UI and UX
  • Share your profile URL publicly
  • Like and Comment Profile

Connect with me 🌐

Live Demo / GitHub Repo

Conclusion

And Finally, this my project submission for the Auth0 x Hashnode Hackathon!. I am really happy to publish my app in a great platform like Hashnode. Thanks #Auth0 and #Auth0Hackathon. Hope you like this. Your feedbacks are warmly welcomed.